Bittersweet Chalkolate

Blog about cooking, teaching, and everything else that is my life.

May. Purging challenge. Day 1.

Leave a comment

purging 1

Long time ago I read somewhere that a person can easily throw away 15 various things a day for quite a while and they will still have enough to keep throwing. It can be anything – old receipts, bank statements, plastic containers, old clothes, shoes, toys, books, CDs – you name it. It can be big or small, significant or not, as long as you are throwing or donating it, you are doing the right thing. Sounds like something I would LOVE to do.

I am very anti consumerism. I can wear the same jacket for 10 years. Or have the same bag for ever. Honestly, I have never been into clothes or jewelry or shoes or bags. I would rather travel. Or go to the spa if I cannot travel. I prefer experiences to things and when I have too many things I feel like they are suffocating me. If only I can get Martin on board. Sigh.

I have never been scared of throwing things out. Never. I do keep a few movie tickets or cards or maps from places I have been to but they do not take half of my living space.  Getting rid of things feels like a virtual weight loss. I am serious. Every time I donate a bag full of stuff I feel like I have lost a few pounds myself. Very therapeutic.

So, I will do my best to purge 15 things a day for a month. Whether it is 15 paper clips that I know I am not going to use or 15 toys that Maya will not play with or 15 pieces of paper. It doesn’t matter. It is spring and I am in a cleaning state of mind.

Today I have put together a donation bag full of  toys that Maya is no longer interested in. In my building we are going to open a room for parents with small children. They can go there and play and spend time with other parents or other children depending on who we are talking about 🙂 So this is my first contribution. I am sure tomorrow I will have more items that I can donate. Maya has too many toys anyway, I do not think she will notice. Aaahhh. Feels good.

 

Leave a Reply

