Bittersweet Chalkolate

Blog about cooking, teaching, and everything else that is my life.

April. Cooking challenge. Days 24 and 25.

Leave a comment

Oh those mug cakes. How I love thee! Thou art the joy of my morning. Thou make my heart and stomach rejoice. Happy am I that google hath thee in multitude. Here is my ode to thee, oh mug cakes!

Microwave Blueberry Muffin in a Mug

Strawberry muffin in a mug

Ingredients:

  • 4 tablespoons all purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • ⅛ teaspoon* baking powder
  • 1/16 teaspoon* baking soda
  • 3 tablespoons milk
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon blueberries, fresh or frozen
    Streusel topping
  • 1 tablespoon (½ oz/15g) butter, cold
  • 1½ tablespoons all purpose flour
  • 1½ tablespoons brown sugar*
  • ¼ teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. In a microwave safe mug mix together the first 6 ingredients until smooth.
  2. Mix in the blueberries.
  3. In a small bowl, rub together the streusel ingredients with a fork until butter pieces resemble bread crumbs.
  4. Sprinkle streusel on top of muffin batter, spreading out evenly across the surface.
  5. Microwave for 1 minute or until it is firm to the touch on top (timing is based on my 1200W microwave so your timing might vary).
  6. Enjoy immediately!

Note

I didn’t have blueberries so I cut up three nice big strawberries instead. It was heaven.

 I am not sure if I told you but my slow-cooker broke down on Saturday. Sunday morning I was at Walmart choosing a new one as I couldn’t imagine surviving the week without it. I got the same size 4 quart slow cooker. It is a Crock Pot as well but this time around I can program it which means even less work for me.
The very first dish that i cooked in it is Crock Pot Sticky Chicken Drumsticks.
Sticky chicken drumsticks

Ingredients:

  • 4 pounds of drumsticks and/or wings
  • ½ Cup honey
  • ½ Cup light brown sugar
  • ⅓ Cup balsamic vinegar
  • ⅓ Cup low sodium soy sauce or gluten-free tamari sauce
  • 3 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 tsp ground ginger

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, whisk together honey, brown sugar, vinegar, soy sauce, garlic and ginger to create sauce
  2. Add drumsticks/wings to a 5 qt or larger crockpot.
  3. Pour the honey mix onto the drumsticks/wings and mix well.
  4. Cook on high in the slow cooker for 4 hours. After 2 hours give the drumsticks a toss to coat in the sauce again. Cover and continue cooking.
  5. Once fully cooked, remove drumstick/wings from the crockpot and place on a baking pan that is lined with foil and has been sprayed with cooking spray.
  6. Broil for 2 minutes or until browned.
  7. Remove the drumsticks/wings from the oven and turn them to the other side.
  8. Broil the other side for 2 minutes or until browned. Watch very carefully they may not need as long depending on your oven. This step is optional but gives the chicken a better texture on the outside.
  9. Serve. This is great with some steamed rice!

Note:

We do love chicken but 4 pounds is honestly just too much. I had only a pound and a half (6 drumsticks) so I again halved the recipe. I also used garlic and ginger powders instead of fresh ones. 

Leave a Reply

