Bittersweet Chalkolate

Blog about cooking, teaching, and everything else that is my life.

April. Cooking challenge. Days 22 and 23.

Leave a comment

I am three days behind with my blog again. But I did 30 minutes of yoga and another 10 of meditation so I am quite ok with it. As I am writing I am listing to guitar relaxation music and I have just done the dishes which I find very relaxing and rewarding as well. I am a weirdo, i know. Life is good even when it is not.

Today in the morning I wanted to make super-duper healthy brownie for breakfast but I guess since no brownie should be healthy mine burnt in the microwave. I will never know how healthy brownies taste. Tomorrow I will try an unhealthy one and something is telling me that it will turn out just fine.

So I have two recipes for you – Churro in a Mug and Fried Cabbage with Sauekraut and Sausages. The second recipe is a combination of this and this.

Churro in a Mug tastes pretty close to an authentic one. That cinnamon sugar on top is what seals the deal. There is a tiny store on the way up to Park Guel in Barcelona. They make delicious churros and serve them with a tiny cup filled with creamiest and darkest hot chocolate. Enough for one sip. How it is supposed to be.

churro in a mug

Ingredients:

  • 4 tablespoons all purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • ⅛ teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/16 teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3 tablespoons milk
  • 1 tablespoon flavorless oil (vegetable, canola, sunflower)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 tablespoons roughly chopped chocolate

Directions:

  1. In a microwave safe mug mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar and cinnamon
  2. Add in the vegetable oil and milk. Stir until this comes together into smooth batter ( Not to worry if there are a few lumps)
  3. Spoon the chopped chocolate into the center of the batter.
  4. Microwave for 45 seconds to 1minute or until the cake has risen and is firm to the touch (timing is based on my 1200W microwave so your timing might vary)
  5. Combine the additional cinnamon and sugar then generously sprinkle on top. Enjoy straight away!

Note

I had dark baking chocolate which I put inside and that was a mistake. It was way too bitter. Just add dark chocolate chips or a piece of a regular dark chocolate. And be generous with that cinnamon sugar 🙂

A few days ago I was craving sauerkraut. No hidden reasons or announcements. I simply wanted to eat the entire jar. But than I thought that I would make myself sick so I decided to make fried cabbage with sausages. I grew up with this dish. I was hoping that so did my husband as he is half Polish after all and Polish make a very similar dish but judging by his reaction – not so much. Anyway, I satisfied my own cravings and this time I selfishly cooked for myself and not for Martin or Maya.

fried cabbage

Ingredients:

  • 4 tbsp oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 jar of sauerkraut, drained
  • 1 small green cabbage
  • half a can of diced tomatoes, juice drained
  • 3 sausages
  • salt and pepper

Directions

  1. Drain the sauerkraut but it’s okay if a little of the pickling juice remains.
  2. Remove the outer leaves of the cabbage and using a paring knife, remove the thick core. Finely shred the cabbage using either a chef’s knife or the shredding blade of a food processor. Your goal is to have equal amounts of sauerkraut and shredded cabbage. Hold aside.
  3. In a stockpot or large saucepan with a tight-fitting lid, place 3 tablespoons of oil and the diced onion. Cook over medium-low heat until the onion is soft and translucent but not browned, about 10 minutes.
  4. Add the shredded cabbage and drained sauerkraut to the onion. Add one more tablespoon of oil and several grinds of black pepper (not too much as you can always add more later). Using tongs, toss so to combine with the onion and coat with the oil.
  5. Cover the pot and reduce the heat to low. Cook for at least 15 minutes checking and mixing every few minutes.
  6. Add drained diced tomatoes, cover and continues cooking for another 30 minutes. Continue mixing often for the cabbage not to burn and get evenly fried.
  7. As the cabbage cooks it will slightly darken and the shreds of cabbage and sauerkraut will blend together.
  8. Cut the three sausages and fry them in a separate frying pan.
  9. Add them to the cabbage and tomatoes.
  10. Taste and add more salt and black pepper if needed.

Note:

I combined two recipes as I wanted a bit more substance to it and I wanted some meat in it. Adding bacon is also good. Everything tastes better with bacon, right? This dish is not an exception. Next time. 

Leave a Reply

