Bittersweet Chalkolate

Blog about cooking, teaching, and everything else that is my life.

April. Cooking challenge. Day 20.

Leave a comment

On Thursdays I go to the Head Office to drop off signed cheques, maintenance and pick up invoices with new cheques. I like Thursdays as they give me some sort of a breather and a change of scene. Since I can come home a bit earlier I have a chance to cook something that might require a bit more time. Today I chose to sit on the couch and watch a movie instead. And then I cooked dinner 30 min before I had to go and pick up Maya. Did I tell you I love Thursdays?

Today I cooked Chicken breast with cheese crust. The recipe is from the Russian website so I will do my best to translate it for you. You will definitely need is a non-stick frying pan. Mine sucked so the second chicken breast that I cooked didn’t look appetizing at all. It tasted great but looked.. khm.. not so much. So make sure you have a great pan.

chicken with cheese crust

Ingredients (for two portions):

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1 cup shredded cheese, preferably Parmesan
  •  2 tbsp of bread crumbs
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbs flour
  • salt
  • oil

Directions:

  1. Tenderize the chicken breast until it is quite thin.
  2. Add some salt.
  3. Shred the cheese and add bread crumbs. Mix them together.
  4. Put flour on a separate dish.
  5. Beat the egg and also put it on a separate dish.
  6. Heat up the oil in the frying pan on medium high.
  7. Drench the chicken breast in flour.
  8. Then soak it in the egg.
  9. Put it on top of cheese and breadcrumbs’ mixture. Press slightly, turn and press again.
  10.   Fry in the pan for 3 minutes on each side.

Note

I used ready made bread crumbs with Italian seasoning. If you have regular ones, I would recommend adding a bit of garlic or onion powder and dried herbs like oregano and thyme. 

Leave a Reply

