Bittersweet Chalkolate

Blog about cooking, teaching, and everything else that is my life.

April. Cooking challenge. Days 17 and 18.

Leave a comment

I work too much. Honestly. I need to go back to Greece where people know how to enjoy life. Siesta from 1 to 5, fresh sea food, olives right there in the garden, wine and a cup of coffee at midnight with gelato.

The two recipes that I have today have nothing to do with Greece but they have everything to do with the lack of time. Or slow cooker. My slow cooker broke on the weekend so I am sad that it did and very happy that now I will choose one with a timer.

I also want to apologize for the pictures of the dishes that I am taking. I am no fashion or food blogger. Neither do I know how to take pictures. I have a husband for that. He is the one who knows and owns cameras, lenses, tripods, flashes. However, I need to take a picture of the dish before it is served to Maya and Martin, hence, terrible quality. Sorry. I hope that if you tried making any of them the actual taste compensates the picture.

Today we have Mac and Cheese in the Mug for lunch and Chicken and Asparagus Lemon Stir Fry for dinner. I had no leftovers for myself today so I quickly searched “lunch in a mug” and found this recipe of mac and cheese. If you love pasta aka carbs and cheese as much as I do then this recipe is for you.

mug mac and cheese

Ingredients:

  • ⅓ cup (28g/1oz) pasta
  • ¾ cup (175ml/6fl oz) water, cold
  • 4 tablespoons milk
  • ¼ teaspoons cornstarch (aka cornflour)
  • 4 tablespoons cheddar cheese, grated
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. In a large microwavable mug or large bowl add in the macaroni and the water. You need a large mug as the water will boil up.
  2. Microwave for roughly 3 ½ minutes. You want the pasta to be fully cooked. (timing is based on my 1200W microwave so your timing might vary)
  3. Pour off the remaining cooking water.
  4. Stir in the milk, cornstarch and shredded cheese and microwave for a final 60 seconds to create your sauce. Stir well, season with salt and pepper and enjoy.

Note

I microwaved pasta for about 5-6 minutes but I had more pasta. I was really hungry. I also added some frozen broccoli and Polish sausages and cooked for about 3 extra minutes. Loved it!

I think I already said that I love Asian food. I cook it at least once a week. I had some asparagus left from Easter so I killed multiple birds with one google search.

chiecken asparagus lemon stir fry

Ingredients:

 

  • 1 1/2 pounds skinless chicken breast, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • Kosher salt, to taste
  • 1/2 cup reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 2 tablespoons reduced-sodium shoyu or soy sauce (or Tamari for GF)
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 tbsp canola or grapeseed oil, divided
  • 1 bunch asparagus, ends trimmed, cut into 2-inch pieces
  • 6 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 tbsp fresh ginger
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • fresh black pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. Lightly season the chicken with salt. In a small bowl, combine chicken broth and soy sauce. In a second small bowl combine the cornstarch and water and mix well to combine.
  2. Heat a large non-stick wok over medium-high heat, when hot add 1 teaspoon of the oil, then add the asparagus and cook until tender-crisp, about 3 to 4 minutes.  Add the garlic and ginger and cook until golden, about 1 minute. Set aside.
  3. Increase the heat to high, then add 1 teaspoon of oil and half of the chicken and cook until browned and cooked through, about 4 minutes on each side. Remove and set aside and repeat with the remaining oil and chicken. Set aside.
  4. Add the soy sauce mixture; bring to a boil and cook about 1-1/2 minutes. Add lemon juice and cornstarch mixture and stir well, when it simmers return the chicken and asparagus to the wok and mix well, remove from heat and serve.

Note

I added 1 tbsp of brown sugar to the broth, soy sauce and lemon juice mixture as it was way too sour. And that’s about it. Great dish overall.

 

 

Leave a Reply

