Bittersweet Chalkolate

Blog about cooking, teaching, and everything else that is my life.

April. Cooking challenge. Day 7.

Leave a comment

My ultimate comfort food is fried chicken. When I was pregnant I was eating it almost every day. Chicken strips from Harveys were my Honey-can-you-get-your-pregnant-wife-what-she-craves-at-12-at-night food. Hot, crispy with honey mustard dipping sauce.. delicious. But after giving birth my body started absorbing calories from thin air so deep fried chicken with bazillion calories is out of the question. Well, most of the time. So what is the alternative?

Buttermilk Panko Crusted Oven Baked Chicken. 

bauttermilk chicken

Back home we use buttermilk to marinate chicken or pork for open fire grilling. Buttermilk makes the meat so tender and juicy that no matter how long you cook it it doesn’t get dry. I had a carton of buttermilk at home as I want to do some baking with it this weekend, so I decided to make this for Friday night.

Ingredients

  • 6 skinless chicken thighs
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme (less if ground)
  • 1teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 12cups panko breadcrumbs
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose seasoning (with salt)
  • pepper

Directions

  1. Marinate chicken in buttermilk, thyme, cayenne, and garlic powder for 4 hours or overnight.
  2. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  3. Mix the panko crumbs with the all-purpose seasoning. Panko bread crumbs really make this chicken, so don’t substitute if possible.
  4. Without rinsing the chicken, dredge in beaten egg, then bread crumb mixture.
  5. Place breaded chicken on a foil-lined baking sheet.
  6. Spray chicken with a little non-stick spray.
  7. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until coating is crispy and juices run clear.

Note

I halved the recipe again and I used two chicken breasts instead of thighs. I tenderized them with a mallet to have thinner and longer strips. I didn’t use cayenne as I can taste even the smallest amount of pepper in food. If I ever travel to India I will probably die from starvation as I have ZERO tolerance for spicy food 🙂 

I put some chicken seasoning instead of all-purpose seasoning, and I used it with marinade not with Panko. I baked my chicken strips for about 15 minutes one side and 10 on the other. Bon appetite!

Leave a Reply

