Bittersweet Chalkolate

Blog about cooking, teaching, and everything else that is my life.

April. Cooking challenge. Day 6.

Leave a comment

We had pork, chicken, sausage. It is time for some fish. And pasta. And broccoli. And cheese. Do you see where I am going with it? The correct answer is Tuna Melt Casserole.

tuna casserole

It is fast. It is fish and a side in one dish. It has all 4 food groups. Guys, it just can’t get better than that.

Ingredients

  • 1 pound of large rigatoni pasta
  • 2 broccoli crowns, broken into florets (about 4 cups)
  • 2 TBS butter
  • 2 TBS flour
  • 1 tsp dried mustard powder
  • 2 pints milk (4 cups)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 4 ounces swiss cheese, grated (1 cup)
  • 4 ounces strong cheddar cheese grated (1 cup)
  • 2 tins of albacore tuna, in water, drained and flaked (2 4-ounce tins)
  • 2 to 3 medium tomatoes, sliced

Directions

  1. Cook the pasta in a large saucepan of lightly salted boiling water, according to the package directions, adding broccoli the last five minutes.  Drain well. Rise and set aside.
  2. Melt the butter in a large saucepan.  Whisk in the flour and mustard powder.  Cook for one minute.
  3. Slowly whisk in the milk.  Bring to the boil slowly, and cook until thickened, whisking constantly.  Stir half of the cheeses to melt.  Season with salt and black pepper to taste.  Stir in the drained and flaked tuna and the broccoli and cooked pasta.
  4. Preheat the oven to 400*F.
  5. Butter a 9 by 13 inch casserole dish.  Pour the tuna mixture into it and level off.   Place the sliced tomatoes on top.  Scatter over the remaining cheese.  Cover with a buttered sheet of foil and then bake for 25 minutes until bubbling.  Uncover and bake for 5 minutes longer.  Serve hot.

Note

I halved the recipe. And I had enough for dinner and for lunch. I didn’t have swiss or strong cheddar cheeses but I had cheddar marble and Parmesan. It worked perfectly fine.

I used regular whole grain mustard instead of mustard powder. Do many of you even have mustard powder? Oh, and I completely forgot about tomatoes. When I was reading the recipe I thought, “Great! I have a couple of tomatoes in the fridge. Now I get to use them.” And then I forgot. Utterly and completely. I am sure they would have made this casserole even better. I will do that next time as I am for sure keeping this recipe for hectic weekday nights.  

Leave a Reply

