Bittersweet Chalkolate

Blog about cooking, teaching, and everything else that is my life.

April. Cooking challenge. Day 5.

Leave a comment

I had exactly 3 and a half sausages in the freezer.

And so I felt like some sort of casserole would be great, you know, one pot kind of dish. Luckily, with the help of google you can find million of casserole recipes. And so I did. When I read the ingredients, I knew it was going to be a hit as it involved baked beans. Martin is obsessed with baked beans. Maya is also ok with them which is a huge incentive for me to try and cook something that involves baked beans.

I had to cook after I picked Maya up from daycare so it did involve some crying and leg hugging but we persevered and the result was worth it. Please, enjoy Sausage and Beans Casserole.

sausage casserole

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 8 pork sausages
  • 2 celery sticks, chopped
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 tbsp tomato purée
  • 400g can lima beans
  • 400g can baked beans in tomato sauce
  • ½ small bunch thyme
  • 200ml hot chicken or vegetable stock
  • 2 slices white bread, whizzed to crumbs

Directions

  1. Heat half the oil in a large casserole dish, then brown the sausages all over. Remove from the pan and set aside.
  2. Add the remaining oil, tip the veg into the dish and fry for 10 mins. Stir in the tomato purée and cook for 1 min more.
  3. Heat oven to 400F.
  4. Return the sausages to the pan with the beans, thyme and some seasoning, then pour in the stock and bring to a simmer.
  5. Remove from the heat, sprinkle over the breadcrumbs, then bake in the oven for 25-30 mins until the crumbs are golden and the stew is bubbling.

Note

I modified this dish a bit as I was cooking. First of all, I had half the amount of sausages so I decided to use less beans. I didn’t have lima beans, and since I am not a huge fan of them anyway, and since I needed less, I used half the can of navy beans instead. So altogether I had 1 can of Heinz baked beans in tomato sauce and half the can of navy beans.

I didn’t have fresh thyme so I used dried one and I didn’t have tomato puree either so I improvised and used ketchup. Celery. Well, let’s just forget about celery, shall we?

This is a nice dish more suited for fall and winter but this Canadian spring isn’t particularly warm so give it a go.

Leave a Reply

