Bittersweet Chalkolate

Blog about cooking, teaching, and everything else that is my life.

April. Cooking challenge. Day 4.

Leave a comment

Chicken. I am not going to write paragraphs about how cheap and versatile it is, all I am going to say is that I cook it at least two or three times a week so I have to be creative. Plus, I have a picky toddler so that alone raises the bar to almost impossible heights.

This recipe is good. Definition of good in my current vocabulary means “ready in 30 minutes”. It does require slightly more time than that but than again it will be cooking on its own so little to no interference is needed.  Meet Filipino Adobo Chicken.

filipino chicken

Ingredients

 

  • 8 skinless chicken drumsticks, on the bone
  • 1/3 cup low sodium soy sauce (use gluten-free soy sauce for GF and coconut aminos for Paleo)
  • 1/3 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1 small head of garlic, crushed
  • 6 ground peppercorns
  • 4 bay leaves
  • 1 jalapeño, chopped (optional)

Directions:

  1. Marinate chicken in vinegar, soy sauce, garlic, jalapeño and pepper, for at least an hour (overnight is ideal).
  2. Put chicken, 1/2 cup water, bay leaves and marinade into a deep nonstick skillet and cook on medium-low heat. Cover and cook until the meat is tender, about 45 minutes.
  3. Remove the cover and cook an additional 15 minutes, until the sauce reduces.
  4. Discard bay leaves and serve over rice if you wish.

Note

I  had only 5 drumsticks but I didn’t change the proportions for the marinade and I am glad that I didn’t. After braising for 40 min and then simmering for 10 there was hardly any marinade left in the pan.

I marinated the chicken for about 4 hours and then cooked it according to the instructions. That time was more than enough for the chicken to become super flavourful. Yay to another dinner with enough leftovers for lunch!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

