Bittersweet Chalkolate

Blog about cooking, teaching, and everything else that is my life.

March. Gratitude journal. Day 20.

Leave a comment

Skype

Skype. Yes, you read it right. Today I am thankful for Skype.

When I was planning my immigration, I didn’t think about many things. Or, let’s put it this way, I didn’t know that I would have to deal with those things. One of them – staying in touch with friends and family.

The first few years were overwhelming. And I honestly tried calling my friends for the first few months. But then the difference in time (7-8 hours depending whether it is winter time or summer time), me going back to work, them having their own lives and us living in different realities all together made those Skype calls almost non existent.

Family is a different story all together. I called them once a week. Sometimes though rarer than that as I was too excited, too eager to see, to try, to be, to live, to experience Canada. Then the routine started. I remember not being able to fall asleep and calling my parents at 1 am (at home it was 9 am). With distance came understanding and closeness. I have always been close with my parents but my immigration and Skype turned that closeness into something much bigger.

When Maya was born, I would talk to them two or even three times a day. My dad’s timetable at University where he was working at the time was perfect for him to be at home when I wanted to talk, complain, ask, cry being all that the first-time mother is. Countess hours they spent watching me and Maya while sitting on their couch at home. Countless advice they gave me on how to allow my daughter to teach me to be the perfect mother for her. And all of that thanks to Skype.

Dear IT people. Not all of you. Just the ones who invented Skype. From all immigrants all over the world. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

