Bittersweet Chalkolate

Blog about cooking, teaching, and everything else that is my life.

March. Gratitude journal. Day 18.

Leave a comment

mistakes

Today I am thankful for my mistakes.

I made many, and I do not regret making them. Only one. I deeply regret only one and I have learned my lesson and I will never make that mistake again.

Without mistakes we are boring. There is nothing to laugh or cry about. There is nothing that makes your heart clench or jump, stop or race. Without them we wouldn’t have bruises, physical and emotional, that needed healing. Having healed one becomes stronger and wiser.

Mistakes give us the luxury of knowing what NOT to do in the future. And sometimes it is even more important than the right decision itself.

I do not want to forget my mistakes. Unless I have learned my lesson, I want to keep that uncomfortable feeling close by so that the next time I will be reminded of that feeling not to make the mistake.

Making mistakes means we are living our lives. It means we are not hiding from opportunities, we are not hiding from decisions, we are not hiding from ourselves. I am not proud of them but I am glad I made them. Without them I wouldn’t be me.

 

Leave a Reply

