Bittersweet Chalkolate

Blog about cooking, teaching, and everything else that is my life.

March. Gratitude journal. Day 15.

Leave a comment

daycare

Daycare. In general and Maya’s daycare in particular.

I was planning on staying with Maya till she was two. But this is life and it is full of surprises so we had to put her into daycare when she was 18 months. Lots of tears on both sides for the first couple of weeks and then she started asking us to take her to daycare on the weekend. I guess it was a good sign.

I do not know how they do it. There is fifteen of those and only three of them. Can you imagine fifteen toddlers saying “no” to snow pants and jackets? I would have lost it there and then. What about diaper change? Whinny because it  is full moon? Wrong shoes? Yellow spoon instead of red one? Teething? Because it is Tuesday? East wind? Just because?

I know that kids behave differently when parents are not around. I have also been told by teachers that Maya has a good personality (I have a little bit less mother’s guilt because of that even though I have nothing to do with it). But still!

This post is my thank you to those who become “me” for Maya when I am not there. They know what she likes and what she doesn’t. They tell me stories that happened during the day and I am jealous as I wasn’t there to cheer her on or to give her a hug. I can see how much she has learned and how much she has grown. I can see her doing things that I do not remember teaching her. I can see how much she loves her teachers as she readily gives them hugs and kisses.

I am sad that I am not with her. I am happy that she has these selfless, extremely intelligent and creative, caring and loving people in her life who teach her to throw garbage in the bin, properly hold a pencil, eat and drink by herself, say please and thank you, name shapes and colours… the list goes on. For Christmas, Maya, who was not even 22 months at the time, performed on the stage with other toddlers. Unforgettable.

Thank you.

 

Leave a Reply

