Bittersweet Chalkolate

Blog about cooking, teaching, and everything else that is my life.

March. Gratitude journal. Day 4.

Leave a comment

friendship

Who would I be without my friends?

I am a very people-person. I have changed a bit over last few years and I do enjoy time spent alone but I still need to be surrounded by people on a daily basis. And I absolutely HAVE TO have friends in my life. There is a saying that if something happened to an extrovert and there is no one around to share it with, it is as if it never happened. Well, I am like that.

To me real friendship is when you are able to pick up a conversation after not seeing each other for a couple of years as if you saw each other yesterday. Now after I had Maya my circle of friends changed. Actually, my circle of friends has changed quite a few times over the years. School friends, university friends, friends from the church..

When I moved to Canada I got very sick and I believe a lot of it was psychosomatic. I was that anxious about finding a job and making new friends. But universe proved again and again to be very generous towards me. I made great friends among teachers that I worked with at Great Lakes College of Toronto, Univox choir became my place of happiness for 4 years and people that I met there are nothing short of amazing.

When I had Maya, the circle of my friends changed yet again. Now I have met some awesome moms and cannot imagine my days without them even if it a brief txt or a conversation on Facebook.

I have learnt to let go. I have realized that people come and go in our lives and this is what makes it so beautiful. I miss my friends from back home but I also understand that I miss the old carefree me who was 10 years younger and 15 kg lighter. I miss my friends from the school where I do not teach anymore but I am thankful for my new friends as they are the ones who give me a shoulder to cry on when I need one.

If you are reading it, most probably, you are my friend, so let me tell you, “Thank you for being in my life. Thank you for letting me vent. Thank you for making me coffee when I ran out of it. Thank you for drinking wine with me. Thank you for driving me and Maya to the family centre. Thank you for being my support in a far away Europe. Thank you for every big and small thing you have ever done for me. I love you and I hope that one day I will be able to do something in return, be a person worthy of your friendship.”

 

Leave a Reply

