Bittersweet Chalkolate

Blog about cooking, teaching, and everything else that is my life.

February. Meditation. Day 5.

Leave a comment

meditation-1

Yesterday was ok.. not great, not bad.. just ok.

This is turning out to be quite a journey. I am only now beginning to realize that “to learn to meditate” is not something I can check off my to-do list. I feel like it will be a work in progress for many years to come if I decide to stick with it after this month.

I have noticed one thing though. At some point today after checking my work email, I started thinking about work and problems that I need to address. Instead of getting anxious and overwhelmed, I was able to tell myself, “All of this will happen on Monday. Today I am focusing on today.” And that made me feel better. Guys, it really made me feel better.

The world will not stop turning while we are taking a break. Rather the opposite, if we do not take that break, something might stop turning inside us and we will break. Figuratively and literally speaking. That’s why I will continue my journey tonight with this.

One more thought before I go. I was putting my daughter to bed today as I do every day. And the way she falls asleep is cuddling with me on the sofa. And after she settles down, I can hear how her breath evens out and I can see how her eyes become heavy and how she is falling asleep. Tonight as I was watching her, that was my other meditation. I was looking at her closed eyes, and cute little nose, and eyebrows, and my heart was melting with love. And we were sitting in the dark room, breathing together. No thoughts in my head. Just me and her. And complete and total relaxation 🙂

Leave a Reply

