Bittersweet Chalkolate

Blog about cooking, teaching, and everything else that is my life.

January. Conflict resolution seminar. Day 21.

Leave a comment

body-outline

Whenever I talk about conflict resolution, I have this activity first. It deals with the awareness of negative emotions. Knowing how you feel and where your anger or frustration “live” inside your body helps people stop before conversation escalates and gets out of hand. It also helps people be more in touch with themselves, understand themselves better. For example, for the longest time I didn’t realize that I get a headache right in my forehead when I get extremely angry until I sat down and thought about it. Now when I start getting that headache I know that I need to take a time-out, leave, breath, do something to calm down, otherwise, I will explode and it will not help the situation at all.

Draw a body outline. Then close your eyes and try to remember the last time you felt sad. Try to where sadness lives inside of you. Is it in your eyes? Is it in your shoulders? Mark those areas blue inside the body outline. Do the same with other emotions.

Scared – black

Guilty – brown

Angry – red

Nervous – orange

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

