Bittersweet Chalkolate

Blog about cooking, teaching, and everything else that is my life.

January. Conflict resolution seminar. Day 20.

Leave a comment

i-think-therefore-i-blog

Today I did it all. Well, almost.

I avoided the conflict represented by the leaking pipe in the garage of my building. I simply didn’t have energy to deal with it. It is not an emergency and it can wait till Monday. I used forcing with my daughter to make her eat her dinner. I shouldn’t have but I did. Mom’s guilt was my own punishment for that. I applied smoothing with a resident by giving him extra time to pay for his back charges. I compromised with a contractor by setting up another meeting with him.  Negotiation  was the only strategy that was left unused.

While writing this blog I am becoming even more aware of the multitude of conflicts in my life. I am glad that I am no longer scared of the word “conflict”, that it doesn’t have a negative meaning for me. I am glad that I can consciously choose how to deal with each and every one of them.

I am paying extra attention to what I am saying to people I work with and I can see that it is working. I am getting great feedback.  I smile when I hear myself using all the patterns and expressions.

I remember hearing about all of this 15 years ago (God, that made me feel old) and I remember how awkward it felt to be using an I-statement. Or how uncomfortable it was to clarify what was being said to me. I am a little bit proud of the progress I have made over these years. Conflict resolution has become a huge part of me and my life. Don’t get me wrong, I have plenty of conflicts myself, but I am happy that I am able to help someone be less afraid of conflicts and find their own groove with conflict resolution.

Leave a Reply

