Bittersweet Chalkolate

Blog about cooking, teaching, and everything else that is my life.

Let’s talk about politics. Who am I kidding?? All I can talk about is babies.

Leave a comment

But first, let’s announce the winner to the previous post. Lisa Johnson, you are the nerd and I love you 🙂

Now to this post. It happens so that once you have given birth to a child your brain stops processing other information. I don’t know about you super moms but that’s what happened to me. I am serious. I suspect it is related to maternal instincts, lack of sleep and the fact that you are attached to your baby 24/7.  You simply cannot put two and two together. You will either end up with 5 or spending the rest of the night trying to figure it out hating yourself for not going to bed earlier.

I know that there are moms out there who 1) are single 2) had to go back to work pretty soon 3) have babies who sleep through the night on the second night when they are still in the hospital 4) brainiacs  5) are super moms with sparkling clean houses and cooked dinners. These women will probably disagree with me as they are very aware of what is going on outside their house. Not me. I know nothing, NOTHING about what is going on in the world right now: politics, economy, you name it. There might as well be zombie apocalypse and I wouldn’t know. But I can tell you about gazillion sleep training methods, schedules for babies, developmental games and other stuff like that.

And you know what? I am cool with that. I have a free pass not to care about the world right now. My entire world is sleeping in her crib sucking on her new pacifier which I had to go and replace like 3 million times already since I put her to bed. Yes I know, bad sleep association, will have to get rid of it. I am not mentally ready to do that yet. I am gathering my strength to do that sometime soon.

Having a baby completely changes your focus and priorities. I can talk about baby farts, spit ups, diaper rash and other things that you might find gross, and actually have an opinion, and quote data and research to back up my opinion. I can give advice to those whose babies are younger than Maya because I already have gone through A LOT and because other moms like me saved my sanity.

So for now, I am going to tell everyone how my daughter is rolling over her right shoulder, how I can make her laugh blowing raspberries on her tummy, how I dread 4:30 am as this is the time she will get up and it will take me another hour to put her back to bed. And she will sleep for 15 min and then we will have to repeat it all over again. And most importantly, how she is my entire world. Everybody and everything can wait.

IMG_4057

SAHM,

Anastasia

Leave a Reply

