Bittersweet Chalkolate

Blog about cooking, teaching, and everything else that is my life.

To workout or not to work out?

Leave a comment

I don’t know about you but I am struggling with making time for workout. I love my sleep so much that getting up one hour or 30 minutes earlier to work out is definitely not something I am dying to do. I have three alarms every 15 minutes, that tells you a lot about my energy level in the morning. 

I come home around 6:30, make dinner and… feel exhausted. My husband often works out and asks if I want to join in, but he is doing this crazy P90X which lasts an hour and I feel like I am going to die after the warm up.

I love dancing, I used to dance when I was younger. I still feel so nostalgic about those days, I even downloaded this cool workout with New York Ballet Company. But something didn’t really click, I did it a couple of times and that was the end of it. I went to a dance studio when they had a promotion, something like 10 classes for $20. Once the promotion was over, and I was expected to pay the full price I had to stop. The cost of dance classes added up and I simply could not afford to dance two or three times a week.  

It is summer, so there are so many things that can be done outside. Rollerblading is one of them. Here, I should confess that I am TERRIFIED of rollerblading. When I just came to Canada, I bought roller blades and my friends kind of taught me how to skate. Two or three days later, I fell and fractured my arm. It was painful, very-very painful. Since then, I see roller blades, and my right arm hurts. I am serious, I am so scared of falling that as soon as I put them on, I want to put them off. So much for rollerblading 😦

Hiking. Hiking is amazing and Martin and I try and go to provincial parks every weekend, and we hike for hours. But that for some reason doesn’t make me slimmer, even a tiniest bit. (sigh) 

So that was the story of my life, when about a week ago I stumbled upon a great youtube channel called XHIT Daily. Their workouts are no longer that 10-15 minutes. And they are very intense. I was doing 10 minute cardio the other day and I had to stop 5 minutes through to catch my breath. You might say I did this because I am in horrible shape, but let me tell you that I am not super fit, but I didn’t die in Peru climbing Machu Picchu either. I really like their workouts. I can fit them in the morning, I can fit them in the evening, I can even do one in the morning AND one in the evening. If you are struggling with making time for workout, you should check them out. 

Stay healthy!

Leave a Reply

